The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 08/30/2009 (#50)

Bernardino Mei - Christ Cleansing the Temple - c. 1655Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 10am

Bible readings:

“8 The voice of my beloved! behold, he cometh leaping upon the mountains, skipping upon the hills. 9 My beloved is like a roe or a young hart: behold, he standeth behind our wall, he looketh forth at the windows, shewing himself through the lattice. 10 My beloved spake, and said unto me, Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away. 11 For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone; 12 The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land; 13 The fig tree putteth forth her green figs, and the vines with the tender grape give a good smell. Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away.” (Song of Solomon 2:8-13 KJV)

“1 Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy lovingkindness: according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies blot out my transgressions. 2 Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin. 3 For I acknowledge my transgressions: and my sin is ever before me. 4 Against thee, thee only, have I sinned, and done this evil in thy sight: that thou mightest be justified when thou speakest, and be clear when thou judgest. 5 Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me. 6 Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward parts: and in the hidden part thou shalt make me to know wisdom. 7 Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. 8 Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice. 9 Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities. 10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. 11 Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. 12 Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit. 13 Then will I teach transgressors thy ways; and sinners shall be converted unto thee. 14 Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, thou God of my salvation: and my tongue shall sing aloud of thy righteousness. 15 O Lord, open thou my lips; and my mouth shall shew forth thy praise. 16 For thou desirest not sacrifice; else would I give it: thou delightest not in burnt offering. 17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise. 18 Do good in thy good pleasure unto Zion: build thou the walls of Jerusalem. 19 Then shalt thou be pleased with the sacrifices of righteousness, with burnt offering and whole burnt offering: then shall they offer bullocks upon thine altar.” (Psalm 51 KJV)

“1 Then came together unto him the Pharisees, and certain of the scribes, which came from Jerusalem. 2 And when they saw some of his disciples eat bread with defiled, that is to say, with unwashen, hands, they found fault. 3 For the Pharisees, and all the Jews, except they wash their hands oft, eat not, holding the tradition of the elders. 4 And when they come from the market, except they wash, they eat not. And many other things there be, which they have received to hold, as the washing of cups, and pots, brasen vessels, and of tables. 5 Then the Pharisees and scribes asked him, Why walk not thy disciples according to the tradition of the elders, but eat bread with unwashen hands? 6 He answered and said unto them, Well hath Esaias prophesied of you hypocrites, as it is written, This people honoureth me with their lips, but their heart is far from me. 7 Howbeit in vain do they worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men. 8 For laying aside the commandment of God, ye hold the tradition of men, as the washing of pots and cups: and many other such like things ye do.
14 And when he had called all the people unto him, he said unto them, Hearken unto me every one of you, and understand: 15 There is nothing from without a man, that entering into him can defile him: but the things which come out of him, those are they that defile the man.
21 For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, 22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: 23 All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.
(Mark 7:1-8, 14-15, 21-23 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. I didn’t meet [the Stephen Minister] when I arrived — about 9:40am. Maybe she couldn’t get anyone to look after her child.
  2. I still have a constant need to belong somewhere. Might this be [the] only reason why I come to church?
  3. Nothing going into the body defiles it, but what comes out defiles it [Mark 7:15].
  4. Evil comes out of the person’s inside. Live by grace, not by law [Mark 7:23].
  5. Only God can make us clean. “Cleanse” me from sin. [regarding Sermon: "Rub a Dub Dub" on the belief that not eating unclean foods and other cleansing rites make us holy -- going against Kosher and/or Hallal regulations]

Comments now:

  1. As much as I believe that food and other cleansing rites aren’t necessary to receive God’s Grace, I feel uncomfortable when I see Christians (especially my friends) eating shrimp, lobster, other shell fish and porkscavengers. Christians in the latter aspect might be dead wrong. As a vegetarian (not vegan), I don’t feel well when I see people eating animal flesh, products and/or by-products. I guess I’m safe since I don’t eat unclean or clean animals. This means that I follow Kosher, Hallal, Hinduism (Ahimsa) and other dietary laws — regardless which is truly and godly correct.
  2. Speaking of cleansing, I guess we can add the passage of Jesus cleansing the temple (Matthew 21:12-13).

    “12 And Jesus went into the temple of God, and cast out all them that sold and bought in the temple, and overthrew the tables of the moneychangers, and the seats of them that sold doves, 13 And said unto them, It is written, My house shall be called the house of prayer; but ye have made it a den of thieves. (Matthew 21:12-13 KJV)

  3. By this time, I had stopped taking my youngest son to church. I now realize that I made a huge error. My little boy needs to make Christian friends aside from making friends at the playground.
One response to “Sunday series: 08/30/2009 (#50)

  1. Rina Mosquera 05/01/2013 at 18:03:45

    No necesariamente para ser un buen cristiano tiene que ser vegetariano.

    Ni tampoco un vegetariano es un buen cristiano.

    Lo que si es verdad es que si queremos mejorar espiritualmente debemos de comenzar por mejorar nuestra alimentación, debemos empezar por dejar de comer carnes.

    La alimentación si influye en nuestro carácter.

    No soy vegetariana, pero si me gusta la comida vegetariana.

Leave a Reply

Maria Rickert Hong

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Faith Unlocked

Christian Poetry, Quotes, and thoughts - if they glorify God they were worth writing; if they mean something to one other person, they were worth sharing. Comments always welcome!

The Jordan Valley

Promise land ......almost here!!

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

From guestwriters

A tiny WordPress.com site based in Belgium

CEREBRATION

Reflections of a deeper psyche!

God is my Gardener

John 15 - Sarah Holbrook Remaining in the Vine

Relevant Christian

Real.Life.Christianity.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,355 other followers

