The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 04/03/2011 (#131)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 11am

Bible readings:

“1 And the Lord said unto Samuel, How long wilt thou mourn for Saul, seeing I have rejected him from reigning over Israel? fill thine horn with oil, and go, I will send thee to Jesse the Beth–lehemite: for I have provided me a king among his sons. 2 And Samuel said, How can I go? if Saul hear it, he will kill me. And the Lord said, Take an heifer with thee, and say, I am come to sacrifice to the Lord. 3 And call Jesse to the sacrifice, and I will shew thee what thou shalt do: and thou shalt anoint unto me him whom I name unto thee.” (1 Samuel 16:1-3 KJV)

“1 And as Jesus passed by, he saw a man which was blind from his birth. 2 And his disciples asked him, saying, Master, who did sin, this man, or his parents, that he was born blind? 3 Jesus answered, Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him. 4 I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work. (John 9:1-4 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. Fourth Sunday in Lent
  2. arrived at 11:18am [during the Prayer of Illumination]
  3. Jesus covering the blind with mud (dust & spit) on the Sabbath. [John 9:1-4]
  4. the quote that bothers me [most] for [my second son] was born sick. [John 9:1-4]
  5. healing — God’s will
    • nothing bad willed by God
    • blindness of heart, not the same [as] physical blindness
    • no blame [given]
    • God’s desire for us to be well!

Comments now:

  1. Read what I wrote in detail about John 9:1-13 about two years and two months ago.

    “If there’s a part of the Bible that bothers me most is John 9:1-41 — especially the first three verses (below, in italics). I don’t like to think that a child can be born sick for God to manifest His might in such child. [...] I’d rather think that my son’s sick as punishment for something I’d done. Then again, I don’t want to believe in a punishing god. If this were true, I want the Lord (God) show me his works, manifest them and heal my son. I’d trade you my life for my son’s health.”

  2. John 9:1-4 is sickening and insulting to all those who are sick and/or disabled. It often makes me want to renounce my faith to this punishing god. How can I hold to the litte faith I’ve got left?
Leave a Reply

Construct 2 Tutorials

Construct 2 Tutorials & Examples

hessianwithteeth

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Frolic & Detour

Cooking, crafts, and the City from an enthusiastic nerd.

Geloof en Rede online.nl

Geloven met je rede en reden om te geloven

rationalhumanist87

irrationalities of the otherwise rational

Warya Post

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Godinterest Blog

Your source for insights and information about Godinterest.com

happilyevermurray.

a simple blog from a simple guy

Demo Rider

"Ceea ce nu trăim la timp , nu mai trăim niciodată." Octavian Paler

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity

havau22/ IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM...LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers

