The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 07/17/2011 (#146)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 10am

Bible readings:

“22 For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. 23 And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body. 24 For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for? 25 But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it. 26 Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. 27 And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God.” (Romans 8:22-27 KJV)

“1 O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me. 2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. 3 Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. 4 For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether. 5 Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it. 7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? 8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; 10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. 11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. 12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. 13 For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. 14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. 15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. 16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them. 17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! 18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee. 19 Surely thou wilt slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, ye bloody men. 20 For they speak against thee wickedly, and thine enemies take thy name in vain. 21 Do not I hate them, O Lord, that hate thee? and am not I grieved with those that rise up against thee? 22 I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them mine enemies. 23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: 24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. faith without seeing = truer faith [Romans 8:22-27]
  2. passionate = hate to those who hate God [Psalm 139]
  3. reference to Harry Potter, Psalm 139 asks for God to stop/fight evil
  4. Abba = Hebrew for Father [regarding the Affirmation of Faith, A Brief Statement of Faith, PC(USA)

Comments now:

  1. none for now

Leave a Reply

A Seed Planted Mobile Herb Shop

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” - Hippocrates

Bullsh!t Wiki

The Best of

Madderthanhell's Blog

Tea Party Patriot's Diary

Official Website - New Crissy Moran

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

The Red Rush Blog

Nitric Oxide Performance Shot

The Sister Abigail Show

Activist, Author, Nutritional Consultant, Raw Food Chef

Trevor Nashleanas

Helping ordinary Christ followers lead and disciple with greater intentionality.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

wergods

Love, Truth, God, Moral, Justice, Virtue, Religions, Freedom

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers

