The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

my church friends, unexpected fellowship

When I started going to FAPC (http://www.fapc.org/), making friends was something I had considered. After all, that had never been my experience in any religious circle. As a matter of fact, my experience had been that of the individual sharing practically nothing in common other than considering ourselves to be “true” Christians.

During the first months, I read a lot of information on Christianity, divisions and differences in the Church, denominations, schism, Martin Luther, John Calvin, John Knox and anything else I could get my hands on. I wanted to make sure that what I had considered to be a “true” Christian would somehow fit into whatever new ideologies I was encountering in this different church. Nowadays Protestant Christianity makes more sense to me than my previous 37 years calling myself and/or being considered Catholic (born into a Catholic family/society and going to Catholic churches, all the while considering Protestants wrong).

Going back to the main subject, I started talking to other church goers asking questions here and there — nothing special, nothing personal, other than the Christian faith. I then started going to these one-hour talks/classes. I slowly started hanging out in church with the same group of people and making friends there without realizing (fellowship). I also took several Bible study classes and met others and got to know some of the previous group of people somewhat better.

These new group of friends are guys whom I can talk, joke, laugh, eat (perhaps the favorite activity) and most importantly share a common faith (being Christian, perhaps with some differences in Christology — http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christology –here and there). As a matter of fact, nowadays some of my dearest friends are from church. At the same time, I’m very grateful to some of them for helping me grow as a Christian and a better person (https://christiannoob.wordpress.com/2010/05/open-letter-to-my-friends-86-weeks/).

I doesn’t stop to amaze me how weird this one church is that these random people (myself included) have come together from different parts — all coming to a common time and place in the universe. I don’t think any of them is from NYC (myself included though living 27 years in this city).

Leave a Reply

GrrrGraphics on WordPress

www.grrrgraphics.com

SARAH MAX RESEARCH

I am not writing about what we know...I am writing about what we don't know.I am voice for voiceless and you help me to discover this crazy world together. BE INFORMED, NOT OPINIONATED !

Know-Love-Obey God

Desiring deeper intimacy with God

Politically Incorrect Princess

The Ramblings of a Libertarian College Student

Victory Girls Blog

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

