The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

lost in Brooklyn

I live in Queens and work in Manhattan. Hence I rarely go to any other borough (county) in the city. Said all this, I had to go to Boro Park and I was practically lost. To make the experience a bit more uncomfortable, it’s a 99.9999% Orthodox and/or Hasidic Jewish neighborhood and most people wear black clothes and hats (tradition that I’m barely familiar with). Meanwhile I stood out like a sore thumb in my black sport shoes, dark gray pants, blue shirt and sweater, black jacket and dark gray knit cap. I normally don’t have care in the world how odd I often look, but this was different. I hadn’t felt so awkwardly out of place since high school (a bit past two decades). It was a case of wrong colors, wrong set of traditions, wrong set of beliefs, in short the wrong society. At least, the bakeries in the area have deliciously fresh Challah bread like Kaff’s (718-633-2600, worth a plug).

Leave a Reply

GrrrGraphics on WordPress

www.grrrgraphics.com

SARAH MAX RESEARCH

I am not writing about what we know...I am writing about what we don't know.I am voice for voiceless and you help me to discover this crazy world together. BE INFORMED, NOT OPINIONATED !

Know-Love-Obey God

Desiring deeper intimacy with God

Politically Incorrect Princess

The Ramblings of a Libertarian College Student

Victory Girls Blog

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

