The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

tough sale, mean business: Christian music

As I was riding the subway this morning, I was listening to The Ramones. Then I started wondering if as a Christian I should listen to Christian music (rock) instead of enjoying the music of a band Jewish New Yorkers from Queens (the borough where I live).

Honestly there are two main reasons why I’m not attracted to Christian music.

  1. Having worked in the music industry for almost a decade, I know it can a be a cut-throat business with people willing to exploit you, sell you and even kill you in order to make a buck. Hence some of the better music around comes from independent labels, which concentrate in specialized markets (punk, industrial, bluegrass, etc).
  2. I listen to music to relax, forget about the world and/or to release my angst. Praising God every three bars just sounds too cliché and over-done. Why can we just cry to God for help or mercy in the middle of a song about our pains and sorrows — similar to country music?

Stryper Concert 1986Said the latter, I started listening to Stryper during high school because it was Christian metal (not pop). It was a good mix although at times I wished the music were a bit harder. In any case, this is the only rock band that I even identified with and have liked. The newer mainstream acts are simply bubblegum.

In all, selling one’s faith can be a mean business — perhaps much more in music.

Leave a Reply

Frankie Olvera

frankieolvera.com

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

