The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

“Jesus: A Theography” by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola

Jesus: A Theography“Jesus: A Theography” (ISBN 9780849947025) by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola starts with words (ideas, actually) of one of my all-time heroes, Einstein.

“According to Einstein’s physics, time doesn’t exist without mass and matter. Time, therefore, begins with creation.”

The book’s sort of a biography although stated not as such but rather as a theography, in which the missing parts of the Christ story are completed with assumptions coming from interpretation of the Scriptures. The book emphasizes that the Old Testament talked about the Christ.

This latter concept’s repeated continuously in the Church. We understand that the Old Testament foretold the birth, life and death of God incarnate (Jesus, the Christ) — referred to as Shadows. The events of Jesus’ life are referred to as Fulfillment (of the Scriptures), which atones humanity (His Sufferings). If the book could be summarized in a chapter or less, it’d be the section of the book named THE ATONEMENT PROPHESIED, which has Jesus’ shadows (OT) and fulfillment of the Scriptures (NT) through His Sufferings. For example, the authors say that Psalms 22:9-13 foretold Matthew 27:33, in which Jesus suffered on the cross.

Shadow: Psalms 22:9-13

“9 But thou art he that took me out of the womb: thou didst make me hope when I was upon my mother’s breasts. 10 I was cast upon thee from the womb: thou art my God from my mother’s belly. 11 Be not far from me; for trouble is near; for there is none to help. 12 Many bulls have compassed me: strong bulls of Bashan have beset me round. 13 They gaped upon me with their mouths, as a ravening and a roaring lion.” (KJV)

Fulfillment: Matthew 27:33

“33 And when they were come unto a place called Golgotha, that is to say, a place of a skull” (KJV)

I don’t get it. Maybe I’m too dumb to understand this or need a master’s degree in divinity. I was fairly disappointed with this book, which I though it’d have been a true learning experience.

Leave a Reply

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

