The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

“The Anger Workbook: An Interactive Guide to Anger Management” by Les Carter and Frank Minirth

The Anger Workbook: An Interactive Guide to Anger ManagementI chose “The Anger Workbook: An Interactive Guide to Anger Management” (ISBN 9781401675431) by Les Carter and Frank Minirth because I’m usually consumed by anger — not merely what could be categorized as bipolar disorder, which I’ve diagnosed with.

“Anger is an emotion that is common to every person. Because we are imperfect people in an imperfect world, we are guaranteed to regularly encounter this emotion.”

The authors include a check list of what it means to be subject to anger.

  • Impatience comes over me more frequently than I would like.
  • I nurture critical thoughts quite easily.
  • When I am displeased with someone I may shut down any communication or withdraw.
  • I feel inwardly annoyed when family and friends do not comprehend my needs.
  • Tension mounts within me as I tackle a demanding task.
  • I feel frustrated when I see someone else having fewer struggles than I do.
  • When facing an important event, I may obsessively ponder how I must manage it.
  • Sometimes I walk in another direction to avoid seeing someone I do not like.
  • When discussing a controversial topic, my tone of voice is likely to become persuasive.
  • I can accept a person who admits his or her mistakes, but I have a hard time accepting someone who refuses to admit his or her own weaknesses.
  • When I talk about my irritations I don’t really want to hear an opposite point of view.
  • I do not easily forget when someone does me wrong.
  • When someone confronts me from a misinformed position, I am thinking of my rebuttal as he or she speaks.
  • Sometimes my discouragement makes me want to quit.
  • I can be quite aggressive in my business pursuits or even when playing a game just for fun.
  • I struggle emotionally with the things in life that are not fair.
  • Although I know it may not be right, I sometimes blame others for my problems.
  • When someone openly speaks ill of me, my natural response is to think of how I can defend myself.
  • Sometimes I speak slanderously about a person, not really caring how it may harm his or her reputation.
  • I may act kindly on the outside while feeling frustrated on the inside.
  • Sarcasm is a trait I use in expressing humor.
  • When someone is clearly annoyed with me I too easily jump into the conflict.
  • At times I struggle with moods of depression or discouragement.
  • I have been known to take an ‘I-don’t-care’ attitude toward the needs of others.
  • When I am in an authority role, I may speak too sternly or insensitively.

I can check off several of the above (if not all) — especially the following two.

  1. “I do not easily forget when someone does me wrong.”
  2. “Sarcasm is a trait I use in expressing humor.”

Regardless how much I may want to hide it, I’m a bitter person, consumed by rage.

Going back to the review of this book, the authors attempt to teach readers how manage anger from a psychological point of view as well as Biblical. The book’s intended for small groups or anger management most likely in a church environment. If you’ve got anger issues, this book can help you.

Leave a Reply

Frankie Olvera

frankieolvera.com

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

