The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

psychotic for Lenten, day 19 & another Sunday that doesn’t count

ashes to ashes, dust to dustSundays aren’t counted during Lent. The six (6) Sundays are excluded from the forty (40) days of Lent. Numbers and faith are intriguing although stupid to concentrate all my energy on, at least as I type this.

In any case, I’m surprised and troubled that depression can hit me so early in the morning. I feel as if something’s missing inside me. What else is new?

To top it off, my mom thinks I’m about to commit suicide. It might be to late in my life to consider embracing death and looking at its sweet face. By the way, my mom can’t understand my twisted (perhaps much too morbid) sense of humor as I tease the Angel of Death.

Perhaps chronic depression (another medical label I recently got) and my ever lasting Waltz of Death (copyright 2012) fuel my writing and creativity. Maybe these characteristics that make others put a gun into their mouths and fire are the so-called inspiration that others crave for. All the while, non-artistic folks don’t understand that there’s no such thing as inspiration, but rather discipline (working on some sort of art form and develop it). The same’s true for luck as there’s no such thing as luck, but rather trial and error until success slaps you in the face.

In any case, today’s Lent devotional comes from Jeremiah 5:26-29, just like the end of a Sesame Street episode.

“26 For among my people are found wicked men: they lay wait, as he that setteth snares; they set a trap, they catch men. 27 As a cage is full of birds, so are their houses full of deceit: therefore they are become great, and waxen rich. 28 They are waxen fat, they shine: yea, they overpass the deeds of the wicked: they judge not the cause, the cause of the fatherless, yet they prosper; and the right of the needy do they not judge. 29 Shall I not visit for these things? saith the Lord: shall not my soul be avenged on such a nation as this?” (Jeremiah 5:26-29 KJV)

2 responses to “psychotic for Lenten, day 19 & another Sunday that doesn’t count

  1. luv2sex.info 03/04/2013 at 00:00:19

    Hope you will feel better and less depressed when heading to the new week!

    • Frank Olvera (aka "The Christian Noob") 03/04/2013 at 05:04:09

      thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Creeping Sharia

Documenting the Islamization of America

Frankie Olvera

frankieolvera.com

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

