The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 10/05/2008 (#3)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 11:15am

Bible reading:

“1 The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good. 2 The Lord looked down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there were any that did understand, and seek God. 3 They are all gone aside, they are all together become filthy: there is none that doeth good, no, not one. 4 Have all the workers of iniquity no knowledge? who eat up my people as they eat bread, and call not upon the Lord. 5 There were they in great fear: for God is in the generation of the righteous. 6 Ye have shamed the counsel of the poor, because the Lord is his refuge. 7 Oh that the salvation of Israel were come out of Zion! when the Lord bringeth back the captivity of his people, Jacob shall rejoice, and Israel shall be glad.” (Psalm 14 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. This is the third Sunday I come in a row.
  2. I thought Presbyterians didn’t believe in saints [regarding the Apostles’ Creed].
  3. Christ = Christós (Kristos) = savior
  4. Baptism to adults? no godparents? understanding the covenant? no Sign of the Cross?
  5. World Communion Sunday
  6. I did not take communion.
    • I still feel like fish out of water.
    • I don’t feel worthy of such.
    • It’s been over 20 years since I last took communion.

Comments now:

  1. The comments I wrote on the bulletin that day are all over the place. I had too many ideas, incoherent at times.
  2. I’m still not sure if Presbyterians believe in or care for saints. I know I don’t — at least, not in the Catholic tradition. I don’t pray to them. By the way, I don’t care to go to St Patrick’s Cathedral, since the last time I went, I couldn’t understand a word anyone said (funky reverberation, possibly speaking in Latin, etc).
  3. I understand adult baptism, why there’s no need for godparents (optional, referred to as “sponsors”), the covenant and becoming children of God.
  4. I’m not sure why there’s no Sign of the Cross, why people don’t kneel when entering a church and other Catholic traditions not followed in Presbyterianism. Perhaps it’s got something to do with its Puritan and/or Calvinist roots. I might take some time to figure this one out, but I’m in no hurry.
  5. Why do I bother with it all?

One response to “Sunday series: 10/05/2008 (#3)

  1. Rina Mosquera 04/02/2013 at 23:56:53

    La comunión es importante porque en la hostia esta cristo. En cuanto a que Ud. no se considera merecedor de eso, no es justo, esta siendo muy severo con Ud. mismo, todos somos merecedores de comulgar. Antes se necesitaba en la religión católica confesarse antes de comulgar, actualmente no es indispensable, cada uno de nosotros sabemos la clase de vida que llevamos, si no infringimos las leyes de Dios, podemos comulgar sin confesarnos, Le sugiero que comulgue todos los domingos.

Leave a Reply

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

