The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 03/15/2009 (#26)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 11:15am

Bible reading:

“1 The hand of the Lord was upon me, and carried me out in the spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley which was full of bones, 2 And caused me to pass by them round about: and, behold, there were very many in the open valley; and, lo, they were very dry. 3 And he said unto me, Son of man, can these bones live? And I answered, O Lord God, thou knowest. 4 Again he said unto me, Prophesy upon these bones, and say unto them, O ye dry bones, hear the word of the Lord. 5 Thus saith the Lord God unto these bones; Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and ye shall live: 6 And I will lay sinews upon you, and will bring up flesh upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and ye shall live; and ye shall know that I am the Lord. 7 So I prophesied as I was commanded: and as I prophesied, there was a noise, and behold a shaking, and the bones came together, bone to his bone. 8 And when I beheld, lo, the sinews and the flesh came up upon them, and the skin covered them above: but there was no breath in them. 9 Then said he unto me, Prophesy unto the wind, prophesy, son of man, and say to the wind, Thus saith the Lord God; Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe upon these slain, that they may live. 10 So I prophesied as he commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they lived, and stood up upon their feet, an exceeding great army.” (Ezekiel 37:1-10 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. Third Sunday in Lent
  2. none during service

New Members Class (#2 part 1):

  1. Three movements of the worship service
    • Approach to God — a state of [readiness] for the Word
      • Organ Prelude
      • Choral Introit
      • Call to Worship
      • Hymn
      • Call to Confession
      • Prayer of Confession
      • Kyrie/Hymn/Solo
      • Assurance of Pardon
      • Passing of the Peace
    • Proclamation of the Word — God speaking to us, main part of the service
      • Congregational Welcome
      • Sung Response
      • Anthem
      • Announcements
      • Prayer of Illumination
      • Sermon
      • Affirmation of faith
      • Sung Response
    • Response to the Word
      • Sacrament of Baptism [beginning of service, after Proclamation of the Word]
        • Presentation of Children
        • Baptismal Questions
        • Prayer of Thanksgiving
        • Declaration
      • Prayers of the People
      • Offering
      • Offertory
      • Doxology
      • Sung Anthem
      • Hymn
      • Benediction
  2. out by 2:20pm

Comments now:

  1. Maybe I made no comments during service to get ready for the New Members Class. Then again during the class, I hardly made any notes, but I felt ready to join this congregation.
One response to “Sunday series: 03/15/2009 (#26)

  1. Rina Mosquera 04/10/2013 at 17:23:08

    Me da gusto leer su comentario, quédese donde se sienta bien y si en algún momento pasa algo no muy agradable también esta bien, todo es parte del aprendizaje y en el aprendizaje lo principal es aprender a desarrollar la paciencia.

Leave a Reply

Frankie Olvera

frankieolvera.com

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

