The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 08/23/2009 (#49)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 10am

Bible readings:

“11 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. 12 But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep. 13 The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. 15 As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. 17 Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again. 18 No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father. 19 There was a division therefore again among the Jews for these sayings. 20 And many of them said, He hath a devil, and is mad; why hear ye him?” (John 10:11-20 KJV)

“17 For Christ sent me not to baptize, but to preach the gospel: not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of none effect. 18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. 19 For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent. 2 0Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe. 22 For the Jews require a sign, and the Greeks seek after wisdom: 23 But we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumblingblock, and unto the Greeks foolishness; 24 But unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God. 25 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men.” (1 Corinthians 1:17-25 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. I didn’t bring [my youngest son] today because
    • [my boss then] called me and [emailed] me to reset the password for three accounts (30 min.)
    • and it is raining very lightly.
  2. The good shepherd knows his sheep.
    • The sheep know their shepherd.
    • The good shepherd gives his life for his sheep.
  3. Reference to Hitler and Nazis during WW II [regarding Affirmation of Faith: From the Barmen Declaration. Barmen, Germany 1934]

    “8.15 We reject the false doctrine, as though there were areas of our life in which we would not belong to Jesus Christ, but to other lords–areas in which we would not need justification and sanctification through him.”
    http://www.sacred-texts.com/chr/barmen.htm

Comments now:

  1. none right, too tired to think!
One response to “Sunday series: 08/23/2009 (#49)

  1. Rina Mosquera 04/23/2013 at 14:31:26

    Cuando este cansado no se sienta culpable, a cualquier le puede pensar, lo importante es que no deje de ir, porque después se enfría y cuesta trabajo volver a ir.

    A parte de que es un aprendizaje, que le hace trabajar las neuronas, lo ayuda espiritualmente a entender algunos misterios, a portarse mejor Ud. a tratar mejor a los demás, etc, todo eso por un lado y por otro, es una terapia, se hace algo diferente de lo que se hace durante la semana, se respira otro aire, gracias a Dios esta yendo a un lugar bonito, elegante, armonioso y todo eso ayuda a subir el autoestima, a que segregue el cerebro las sustancias de la felicidad, de la tranquilidad, de la misericordia, del perdón, peor seria no hacer nada.

Leave a Reply

Frankie Olvera

frankieolvera.com

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

