The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 10/04/2009 (#55)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 11am

Bible readings:

“4 For thou hast been a strength to the poor, a strength to the needy in his distress, a refuge from the storm, a shadow from the heat, when the blast of the terrible ones is as a storm against the wall. 5 Thou shalt bring down the noise of strangers, as the heat in a dry place; even the heat with the shadow of a cloud: the branch of the terrible ones shall be brought low. 6 And in this mountain shall the Lord of hosts make unto all people a feast of fat things, a feast of wines on the lees, of fat things full of marrow, of wines on the lees well refined. 7 And he will destroy in this mountain the face of the covering cast over all people, and the vail that is spread over all nations. 8 He will swallow up death in victory; and the Lord God will wipe away tears from off all faces; and the rebuke of his people shall he take away from off all the earth: for the Lord hath spoken it. 9 And it shall be said in that day, Lo, this is our God; we have waited for him, and he will save us: this is the Lord; we have waited for him, we will be glad and rejoice in his salvation.” (Isaiah 25:4-9 KJV)

“30 And the apostles gathered themselves together unto Jesus, and told him all things, both what they had done, and what they had taught. 31 And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat. 32 And they departed into a desert place by ship privately. 33 And the people saw them departing, and many knew him, and ran afoot thither out of all cities, and outwent them, and came together unto him. 34 And Jesus, when he came out, saw much people, and was moved with compassion toward them, because they were as sheep not having a shepherd: and he began to teach them many things. 35 And when the day was now far spent, his disciples came unto him, and said, This is a desert place, and now the time is far passed: 36 Send them away, that they may go into the country round about, and into the villages, and buy themselves bread: for they have nothing to eat. 37 He answered and said unto them, Give ye them to eat. And they say unto him, Shall we go and buy two hundred pennyworth of bread, and give them to eat? 38 He saith unto them, How many loaves have ye? go and see. And when they knew, they say, Five, and two fishes. 39 And he commanded them to make all sit down by companies upon the green grass. 40 And they sat down in ranks, by hundreds, and by fifties. 41 And when he had taken the five loaves and the two fishes, he looked up to heaven, and blessed, and brake the loaves, and gave them to his disciples to set before them; and the two fishes divided he among them all. 42 And they did all eat, and were filled. 43 And they took up twelve baskets full of the fragments, and of the fishes. 44 And they that did eat of the loaves were about five thousand men.” (Mark 6:30-44 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. Came late for the Parents Workshop so made time and came directly at about 10:30 to the sanctuary.
  2. After coming to this church, I feel
    • that I belong here (finally somewhere),
    • that it’s my [responsibility] to be here and help,
    • that it’s my pride to be part of this church.
  3. I was just thinking of the good things and bad things in my life, the errors and those that were not. Where did it all go wrong? Is it right now? I am still broken as it is.
  4. Biblical feast [regarding Isaiah 25:4-9]
  5. Lord’s Supper [better yet, a meal with the Lord; regarding Isaiah 25:4-9 & Mark 6:30-44]
  6. Extra [offering, small though] for peace activities by PC(USA)
    http://www.pcusa.org/peacemakingoffering

Adult Education:

  1. Life / Church / Religion — continuously different
  2. Pluralism
    • 92% believe in God.
    • 58% pray daily.
  3. in 1990
    1. not religious (belief of God, but not part of religion) — 8%
    2. right now — 15%
  4. religion [seen as] exil.

Comments now:

  1. I’ve heard the passage of the feeding of the 5000 (Mark 6:30-44) since I was a kid. Perhaps this is the only story that’s hammered into Christians mind.
  2. I still get confused with to pray and to prey. The first is talking to God. The second is following some animal to attack/kill it.
  3. I’m still surprised at the idea that a church or, in this case, a denomination collects funds to help others.
    • When I was kid, I knew of one church that gave little rolls of bread to anyone who asked.
    • When I was thirteen (13), I went to Riverside Church where people could get cans of food and other non-perishables like dry milk — as we did in 1994.
    • Nowadays, I know that Jackson Heights Seventh-day Adventist Church has a soup kitchen — hopefully nicer than the one that I once went to for a plate of cold spaghetti and hot tomato sauce.
    • I also know of The Bowery Mission where members of the clergy and the congregation of FAPC take care of worship and serve dinner every fourth Sunday of the month.
    • I don’t know if every church joins in ministry to feed the poor (not bums who don’t want to work) or not, but this should be one of the most important obligations of every church with enough funds to do so.

      “35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: 36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. 37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? 38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? 39 Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? 40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me. (Matthew 25:35-40 KJV)

Leave a Reply

GrrrGraphics on WordPress

www.grrrgraphics.com

SARAH MAX RESEARCH

I am not writing about what we know...I am writing about what we don't know.I am voice for voiceless and you help me to discover this crazy world together. BE INFORMED, NOT OPINIONATED !

Know-Love-Obey God

Desiring deeper intimacy with God

Politically Incorrect Princess

The Ramblings of a Libertarian College Student

Victory Girls Blog

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

