The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 09/11/2011 (#154A)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 8:30-11am

Bible readings:

“1 Give ear to my prayer, O God; and hide not thyself from my supplication. 2 Attend unto me, and hear me: I mourn in my complaint, and make a noise; 3 Because of the voice of the enemy, because of the oppression of the wicked: for they cast iniquity upon me, and in wrath they hate me. 4 My heart is sore pained within me: and the terrors of death are fallen upon me. 5 Fearfulness and trembling are come upon me, and horror hath overwhelmed me. 6 And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest. 7 Lo, then would I wander far off, and remain in the wilderness. Selah. 8 I would hasten my escape from the windy storm and tempest.” (Psalm 55:1-8 KJV)

“31 What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us? 32 He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things? 33 Who shall lay any thing to the charge of God’s elect? It is God that justifieth. 34 Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. 37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. 38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, 39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:31-39 KJV)

“1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? 2 When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell. 3 Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident. 4 One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to enquire in his temple.” (Psalm 27:1-4 KJV)

“11 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. 12 But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep. 13 The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. 15 As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. (John 10:11-15 KJV)

“23 Oh that my words were now written! oh that they were printed in a book! 24 That they were graven with an iron pen and lead in the rock for ever! 25 For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth: 26 And though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God: 27 Whom I shall see for myself, and mine eyes shall behold, and not another; though my reins be consumed within me.” (Job 19:23-27 KJV)

“1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.” (Psalm 23 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. A Service of Prayer, Reflection and Sacred Music
  2. Somber, no idea what to expect, church 2/3 empty.
  3. “At 8:46 am American Flight #11 hit the North Tower of the World Trade Center.”
    • creepy silence for several minutes
    • Crash by a U.S. Army B-25 bomber on July 28, 1945Stupid pilot just like in the Empire State Building [picture on the right] [remembering what I thought that eerie Tuesday morning, after watching footage of the first plane]
  4. “At 9:03 am United Flight #175 hit the North Tower of the World Trade Center.”
    • Something [different] definitely now right? Are we being attacked? [remembering what I thought while watching footage of the second plane]
  5. “At 9:37 am American Flight #77 hit the Pentagon in Washington DC”
    • “We are under attack! [remembering what I thought while watching footage of the third plane, followed by confusion and false stories of the Sears Building and several bridges also being destroyed, right before the island of Manhattan was shut down — no traffic in or out, little to no subway service, all airplanes grounded]
    • Heard sirens during service.
      • I freaked out.
      • I am still afraid after all these years.
  6. “At 9:59 am the South Tower of the World Trade Center collapsed”
    • Oh shit!
    • Son of a bitch!
    • Oh Fuck!
    • Fuck!!!
    • What in the fuck?
    • Now what? [remembering what I thought while watching footage of the collapsing tower]
  7. “At 10:03 am United Flight #93 crashed in Somerset County, Pennsylvania”
    • How many more planes? How much more?
    • “Lord Have Mercy, Christ Have Mercy.” [remembering what I thought when I heard the news]
  8. “At 10:28 am the North Tower of the World Trade Center collapsed.”
    • disbelief, panic, expecting [much] worse
    • “Lord Have Mercy, Christ Have Mercy.”
    • [My second son] 2 months old (sick?) [remembering what I thought when I heard the news]

Comments now:

  1. ten (10) years after 9/11
  2. one of the most disturbing and scariest services I’ve ever been part of.

Leave a Reply

GrrrGraphics on WordPress

www.grrrgraphics.com

SARAH MAX RESEARCH

I am not writing about what we know...I am writing about what we don't know.I am voice for voiceless and you help me to discover this crazy world together. BE INFORMED, NOT OPINIONATED !

Know-Love-Obey God

Desiring deeper intimacy with God

Politically Incorrect Princess

The Ramblings of a Libertarian College Student

Victory Girls Blog

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

