The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Sunday series: 12/18/2011 (#169A)

Where: Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church at 9:30 & 11am

Bible readings:

“23 But he turned, and said unto Peter, Get thee behind me, Satan: thou art an offence unto me: for thou savourest not the things that be of God, but those that be of men (Matthew 16:23 KJV)

“19 And the angel answering said unto him, I am Gabriel, that stand in the presence of God; and am sent to speak unto thee, and to shew thee these glad tidings.” (Luke 1:19 KJV)

“46 And Mary said, My soul doth magnify the Lord, 47 And my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour. 48 For he hath regarded the low estate of his handmaiden: for, behold, from henceforth all generations shall call me blessed.” (Luke 1:46-48 KJV)

“11 And there came a voice from heaven, saying, Thou art my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.” (Mark 1:11 KJV)

“2 As it is written in the prophets, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee. 3 The voice of one crying in the wilderness, Prepare ye the way of the Lord, make his paths straight.” (Mark 1:2-3 KJV)

“13 For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb.” (Psalm 139:13 KJV)

“19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: (Matthew 28:19 KJV)

“4 He telleth the number of the stars; he calleth them all by their names.” (Psalm 147:4 KJV)

“13 Behold, my servant shall deal prudently, he shall be exalted and extolled, and be very high.” (Isaiah 52:13 KJV)

“14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. 15 John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me. 16 And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace. 17 For the law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ. 18 No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him.” (John 1:14-18 KJV)

Comments then:

  1. Fourth Sunday in Advent, Christmas Pageant
  2. [served at] both 9:30 & 11AM
  3. Did the baby Jesus cry? [regarding Sermon No Crying He Makes?

Comments now:

  1. perhaps my favorite part of the Liturgical year
Leave a Reply

Frankie Olvera

frankieolvera.com

Lloyd Kaufman

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Tromemoir

MONSTERS AND DAUGHTERS: Growing up with the Toxic Avenger

Lee Ann McAdoo

Psychic. Lion Tamer. Ensorcelling Muse.

Jenna Abrams

Rely on common sense

