The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Vacation Bible School (Study): day 1

Vacation Bible School (Study)I took my five-year-old to church this morning for VBS. He was shy and he didn’t know what to do (fish out of the water) at first. His group is the Faithful Fox group with Ms Ann and Ms Jane.

This week they will learn about the books of

  1. Genesis,
  2. Exodus,
  3. Leviticus,
  4. Numbers,
  5. Deuteronomy,
  6. Joshua
  7. Judges,
  8. Ruth,
  9. 1 Samuel
  10. and 2 Samuel.

He might learn the Old Testament better that I do.

By the end of first day, he was arguing with another kid for losing a running competition (sore loser). He seems to have made good friends. I’m proud of him.

“Today’s theme [was] God’s LOVE helps us to stand strong for God & the verse is:

“I love you Lord.
You are my strength.”
~Psalm 18:1 [NLT]

Review the verse with your child(ren) & continue to learn the wonderful Scripture stories at home!”

5 responses to “Vacation Bible School (Study): day 1

  1. Mr. Atheist 08/19/2013 at 12:13:28

    I remember sunday school. We didn’t have vacation bible school back then. I wonder what that would have been like and if it would have made more or less a difference to me in my life in general.

    What is your reasoning for sending your child to VBS? What are you expecting from it?

    • Frank Olvera (aka "The Christian Noob") 08/19/2013 at 18:26:10

      I never went to VBS. There was no such thing in the Catholic church that I went to. I don’t know if Catholics do VBS or not. In any case, I want my children to be better people than I am — not bitter, negative and often filled with rage (plus all the mental deceases that I’ve been diagnosed with at some point or another). Of course, I also want him to know the faith that I’ve had lots of difficulty practicing. Maybe my five-year-old would become a good Christian that I’ve failed to be (always the black sheep). Perhaps, at least, he’d have a better upbringing.

  2. Mr. Atheist 08/19/2013 at 18:31:21

    How do you define a good christian and why are you so “bad at it”?

    • Frank Olvera (aka "The Christian Noob") 08/20/2013 at 10:59:27

      A true Christian is a follower of Christ — his teaching about the Godhead and how to be a good person loving friends and foes.

      A good person for that matter should emulate Jesus and, most importantly, be good to others. This doesn’t mean that anyone from another faith system can’t be good. One moral compas shouldn’t be limited to the Bible and/or other holy book.

      Answering your second question, I’m not a good follower of Jesus or hardly anyone and/or anything good. It’s a struggle when living with mental disease, the stigma especially being called a junkie while fighting my own inner devils.

  3. Rina Mosquera 08/19/2013 at 21:36:04

    Felicitaciones, que Dios lo bendiga, la religión es muy importante en la formación de los niños, sin llegar al fanatismo

Leave a Reply

GrrrGraphics on WordPress

www.grrrgraphics.com

SARAH MAX RESEARCH

I am not writing about what we know...I am writing about what we don't know.I am voice for voiceless and you help me to discover this crazy world together. BE INFORMED, NOT OPINIONATED !

Know-Love-Obey God

Desiring deeper intimacy with God

Politically Incorrect Princess

The Ramblings of a Libertarian College Student

Victory Girls Blog

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

