The Christian Noob (n00b)

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

boring: the headshrinker vs. the narcissist

I’ve been called many things, from descent (almost nice) to extremely bad. A few months ago, I saw the in-house psychiatrist for an evaluation (basically to find out if I was worth seeing) at the mental clinic I now go to. This shmuck wrote down on his report that I was a narcissist and that I’d a liability to the clinic — what an arrogant bastard.

“Narcissism is a term that originated with Narcissus in Greek mythology who fell in love with his own image reflected in a pool of water. Currently it is used to describe the pursuit of gratification from vanity, or egotistic admiration of one’s own physical or mental attributes, that derive from arrogant pride. Narcissism has included particular meanings in specific fields:

  • A concept in psychoanalytic theory, introduced in Sigmund Freud’s On Narcissism
  • An Axis II disorder, Narcissistic personality disorder, in DSM-IV
  • A social or cultural problem
  • A factor in trait theory used in some self-report inventories of personality such as the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory

Except in the sense of primary narcissism or healthy self-love, narcissism is usually considered a problem in a person or group’s relationships with self and others.”
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Narcissism

Said the latter, I must thank my psychologist who told the people in charge of the clinic to sod off (for a lack of a better term) and that he’d work with me. Since then, I’ve signed documents indicating that, if I were to feel my demons taking over, I’d call the clinic and/or the psychologist immediately and/or go to a hospital.

Leave a Reply

GrrrGraphics on WordPress

www.grrrgraphics.com

SARAH MAX RESEARCH

I am not writing about what we know...I am writing about what we don't know.I am voice for voiceless and you help me to discover this crazy world together. BE INFORMED, NOT OPINIONATED !

Know-Love-Obey God

Desiring deeper intimacy with God

Politically Incorrect Princess

The Ramblings of a Libertarian College Student

Victory Girls Blog

born & raised Catholic, now going to a Presbyterian church & still learning

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Folk Magic, Druidism, Heathenry, & Pagan Parenting

